AP Backup as a Service

Technical support for APBackUp users
Post Reply
Richard

AP Backup as a Service

Post by Richard » 07 Feb 2005, 15:10

I downloaded and installed AP Backup yesterday on a Windows 2003 Server. It took a while of playing around with it, but I managed to successfully run a back up process to an FTP site. This was done using the "Exectute Now" functionality.

The problem occurs when I try and schedule a backup with APBackup installed as a Service. I installed the service and the process didn't start. I then tried to change the name of the Windows account from System to a known Administrator with a password. The service still didn't start.

If I can get this working I'll order two licenses. Can you help please?

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 318
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Post by support » 07 Feb 2005, 17:13

Task didn't start because APBackup stopped waiting you press "Continue without registration". So You can try start service in this way:
Setup service for Local System account and Interact with desktop option.
Then start service registration window be displayed, press "Continue without registration". Thats all, service will work and you can Log Off and login again.

Guest

Post by Guest » 08 Feb 2005, 12:51

I purchased 2 licenses, and activated one on the 2003 machine which I have APBackup installed. I've installed the service, and it is started. It's also configured to use the System Account and to interact with desktop.

It still doesn't work. The scheduled tasks do not start unless I'm logged into the machine with APBackup running. Why not?

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 318
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Post by support » 08 Feb 2005, 13:01

Please send APBackUp.log to support@avpsoft.com

bmerry
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 Feb 2005, 03:30

Running APBackup as a service

Post by bmerry » 09 Feb 2005, 03:36

I'm currently evalulating this program and I am finding the same problem with this and other backup programs running on Server 2003. Nothing happens unless you are logged onto that server.

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 318
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Re: Running APBackup as a service

Post by support » 09 Feb 2005, 08:56

bmerry wrote:I'm currently evalulating this program and I am finding the same problem with this and other backup programs running on Server 2003. Nothing happens unless you are logged onto that server.
If you evaluating APBackUp read the second post to get know how evaluate APBackup service in unregistered version. And next, if you try backup LAN resources in Service read APBackup FAQ.

Guest

Post by Guest » 10 Feb 2005, 13:30

I'm now past the problems and this program works GREAT. I bought two licenses and have two different unattended FTP backups which occur overnite. For the price it's a great value, and much cheaper than me writing it myself.

The only issue I've noticed is that it appears that if I go into APBackup to edit tasks, after I exit I must stop and restart the service for the scheduler to work. I could be wrong, but that's the way it seems to behave.

Good work and thanks.

Richard

Post by Richard » 10 Feb 2005, 13:34

I also HIGHLY reccomend not using the built-in zip compression, I installed and configured WinRAR instead and noticed that my backups were substantially smaller in size. It's not a problem with APBackup, but rather the difference between the different compression methods.

chen

back up process has trouble with services

Post by chen » 22 Jun 2005, 15:29

I am going to buy your APBackUp software, when tried your free tail,
when I installed it to services of windows 2000. when I started run the services, I couldn't open application from desktop. If I stop services, I can open application from desktop. Why?

When I log off, schdual back up time, it didn't work.

How can I make the backup work with services? Please help, I want to make the back up done, then I can order your APBackUp.

Thanks

Chen

Guest

Re: back up process has trouble with services

Post by Guest » 22 Jun 2005, 16:04

when I installed it to services of windows 2000. when I started run the services, I couldn't open application from desktop. If I stop services, I can open application from desktop. Why?

When I log off, schdual back up time, it didn't work.

How can I make the backup work with services? Please help, I want to make the back up done, then I can order your APBackUp.

Guest

Re: back up process has trouble with services

Post by Guest » 22 Jun 2005, 16:05

Anonymous wrote:when I installed it to services of windows 2000. when I started run the services, I couldn't open application from desktop. If I stop services, I can open application from desktop. Why?

When I log off, schedual back up time, it didn't work.

How can I make the backup work with services? Please help, I want to make the back up done, then I can order your APBackUp.

easi
Posts: 16
Joined: 22 Jun 2005, 18:42

Post by easi » 23 Jun 2005, 19:20

Anonymous wrote:I purchased 2 licenses, and activated one on the 2003 machine which I have APBackup installed. I've installed the service, and it is started. It's also configured to use the System Account and to interact with desktop.

It still doesn't work. The scheduled tasks do not start unless I'm logged into the machine with APBackup running. Why not?
I have the same problems :/

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 318
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Post by support » 23 Jun 2005, 20:10

Please read last question from:
http://avpsoft.com/products/apbackup/faq/
Also please send APBackup.log and ArhTask.bpd to support@avpsoft.com

easi
Posts: 16
Joined: 22 Jun 2005, 18:42

Post by easi » 23 Jun 2005, 20:48

support wrote:Please read last question from:
http://avpsoft.com/products/apbackup/faq/
Also please send APBackup.log and ArhTask.bpd to support@avpsoft.com
Ok thanks, but backup is on a secondary hard drive. I do test and i think it's because i don't spécifi the good user. When i use Administrator account, schedule works.

Your backup software is wonderfull :)

Thanks again.

Gigo
Posts: 13
Joined: 19 Jan 2006, 20:39
Location: Dongen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Service Manager shows APBackup running

Post by Gigo » 19 Jan 2006, 20:47

Hi,

I'm testing APBackup for my company and I must say that my first impression is that it performs OK.

One thing I noticed: Since the program is using SRVANY.EXE to act as a service, I cannot monitor (or automatically restart the service) whether APBackup is actually running.

Any chance that the program is going to be changed in the near future, so it will be installed as a service instead of using SRVANY to fool the Operating System? If so, this application may be exactly what we're looking for.

Post Reply