Tray icon missing when Apbackup starded with NT service

Technical support for APBackUp users
Post Reply
misterin
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 May 2005, 01:48

Tray icon missing when Apbackup starded with NT service

Post by misterin » 15 Nov 2006, 04:02

Hello

When Apbackup is launched with NT service, it works but no tray icon appear.

We have to lauch manually a new instance of Apbackup to get the tray icon and management panel.

Is it something you plan to fix ?
Is there a risk of misfunction having 2 Apbackup instances running ?

Best regards
Jean-Marc Bellier

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 318
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Post by support » 15 Nov 2006, 19:04

Hello

Please read (last question)
http://avpsoft.com/products/apbackup/faq/
If you start APBackup under LocalSystem account it can't appear in tray. The best way is to configure APBackup starting it in normal mode and then exit and restart service.

misterin
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 May 2005, 01:48

Post by misterin » 15 Nov 2006, 22:50

Thanks for your answer
tray icon doesn't appear with administrator account too.
the solution you give - stopping the service for configuring - is OK

But it is not only a matter of configuration but mainly a question of checking apbackup log. It is not easy to stop the service each time I want to check backup logs. Thats way I have frequently two concurrent Apbackup sessions : service mode, plus normal mode when I am logged.
It works like that but it seems not to be achieved...Perhaps it very complicated to fix this ?

Best regards
Jean-Marc Bellier

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 318
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Post by support » 15 Nov 2006, 23:06

To get access to APBackup log just see APBackup.log file in the APBackup installation folder. Also APBackup can send log to e-mail ater task is finished.

misterin
Posts: 6
Joined: 03 May 2005, 01:48

Post by misterin » 12 Dec 2006, 06:28

Problem solved : it was due to usage of Remote Desktop Protocol that makes some tray icons disappear. I changed with VNC for my remote access and I recovered all my lost icons included APBACKUP.

This is a known RDP/TSE problem
Best regards

Post Reply