Using FTPS

Technical support for APBackUp users
fasteddie
Posts: 2
Joined: 21 Mar 2011, 13:54

Using FTPS

Postby fasteddie » 21 Mar 2011, 14:01

Hello !

I am in the process of evaluating APBackup. One of the things I need to do with it is to use the FTPS ability in it to upload a file to a remote FTPS server. It looks like the current version of APBackup supports being able to use the FTPS protocol to upload a file to a remote FTP server. I downloaded the software to try it out. Normally, when using FTPS (FTP over SSL), you have to import a digital SSL certificate into the package so the FTP setup knows what certificate to use to perform the authentication and encryption. I don't see this in APBackup. Where do you specify the digital certificate for the FTPS setup and/or how is this done ?

Thank you.

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 317
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Re: Using FTPS

Postby support » 21 Mar 2011, 15:14

Hello

SSL certificate is installed on the FTP server side. In APBackup you select only what connection to use (explicit/implicit).

fasteddie
Posts: 2
Joined: 21 Mar 2011, 13:54

Re: Using FTPS

Postby fasteddie » 22 Mar 2011, 19:28

I have setup an uploadFTP task to a remote server and put in the FTP login credentials (FTPS explicit) but am getting the following error:

3.22.2011 2:10:11 PM:[1001][E] The task will be executed according to schedule
3.22.2011 2:10:11 PM:[1001][E] Unexpected error. Either source or archive folders are invalid[Unable to copy file to FTP: "******" [SSL is not available on this server. [Security data exchange complete.]]]
3.22.2011 2:10:11 PM:[1001][E] Unable to copy file to FTP: "******" [SSL is not available on this server. [Security data exchange complete.]]

I have asterisked out the remote FTP server address for the purposes of this post. The company hosting the remote FTP server has provided me with a digital certificate which, for every other FTP client I have used, has to be installed into the certificate store on the FTP client. I have also double checked all of the login credentials and they are correct. Why am I getting this error.

Thank you.

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 317
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Re: Using FTPS

Postby support » 23 Mar 2011, 07:40

Hello

Sorry APBackup works only for server side CA connection and doesn't support client side CA

gavind
Posts: 2
Joined: 05 Jun 2012, 14:36

Re: Using FTPS

Postby gavind » 05 Jun 2012, 14:39

Thanks for clarifying. Image

tysonlee
Posts: 1
Joined: 06 Nov 2012, 05:31

Re: Using FTPS

Postby tysonlee » 06 Nov 2012, 05:32

For example: You want to start the task on working days from 9.00 to 17.00 each 10 minutes.


Return to “APBackUp/Save2ftp support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron