Various errors with APFill

Technical support for APFill users
Guest

Various errors with APFill

Post by Guest » 23 Feb 2005, 15:20

I have installed APFill Trial Version 3.3.849 and am trying to examine a .ps file.

It worked just once, but since then I got various errors like ...
"Impossible to open an instance of ghostscript"
- or -
"Error: init_args: Access Violation. Something went wrong."

I re-installed GS (now Vers. 8.15) and APFill and copied gsdll32.dll to the APFill folder but no success.
I have Win XP Prof SP1 with all the latest Updates.
Any ideas what might be wrong?

Thanks
Joe

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 324
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Re: Various errors with APFill

Post by support » 23 Feb 2005, 18:42

Guest wrote: I re-installed GS (now Vers. 8.15) and APFill and copied gsdll32.dll to the Joe
Sorry but you should install v 8.14 of GS
http://www.cs.wisc.edu/%7Eghost/doc/AFPL/get814.htm
In every versions of GS is a different interface.

Joe the Guest

Post by Joe the Guest » 23 Feb 2005, 20:05

Thanks for your reply.
I did a fall-back to 8.14 and rebooted, then was able to open a .ps file.

Next I tried another file that has a blank in its name and got the error:

"Error: init_args: Access Violation. Something went wrong."

Next I tried the first file again, then get the error:

"Impossible to open an instance of ghostscript. Error code: -100"

Gentlemen, that smells like a bug ...

Greetings from Germany
Joe

Joe the Guest

Post by Joe the Guest » 23 Feb 2005, 21:18

I removed the blank from the file name and the problem still exists. So there seems to be another problem with that .ps file, although it displays fine with GSView.

But once I have touched that file, I cannot open any other file any more.
Only a reboot fixes the "Impossible to open ..." problem then.

Joe

Joe the Guest

Post by Joe the Guest » 23 Feb 2005, 21:31

Found the problem with the file.
There was a string of text that would go beyond the borders of the page.
I shortend the string so it ends within the borders of the page and now I can open the .ps file with APFill.

To escape from the condition described before, a reboot is not really necessary. Closing and re-opening APFill works as well.

By the way, would it be possible to give the value of "common average ratio" a second digit? I'm trying to optimize a page and it would be more precise and helpfull to see that it has improved from 4,8% to 3,2% than from 4% to 3%.

Thank you.
Joe

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 324
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Post by support » 24 Feb 2005, 06:07

Joe the Guest wrote:Found the problem with the file.
There was a string of text that would go beyond the borders of the page.
I shortend the string so it ends within the borders of the page and now I can open the .ps file with APFill.
Please send this problem file to support@avpsoft.com to fix this bug with APFill
Joe the Guest wrote: By the way, would it be possible to give the value of "common average ratio" a second digit?
Ok we will implement this feature in the next version. Thanks for the bug report.

Joe the Guest

Post by Joe the Guest » 24 Feb 2005, 15:01

Hello,
thanks for your very fast response. That's what I call Good Service!

I boiled the .ps file down to this:
%!
newpath
/testname (This is a long string to display on the page) def

/Helvetica-Bold findfont 36 scalefont setfont
0.5 setgray
0 790 translate
40 -50 moveto testname show
90 rotate
-700 -40 moveto testname show

showpage
It worked first until I added the line "0.5 setgray".

Greetings
Joe

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 324
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Post by support » 25 Feb 2005, 09:00

This bug is fixed in APFill 3.4 (25.02.2005). Please download it
http://avpsoft.com/products/apfill

Thanks for your help

Joachim
Posts: 4
Joined: 25 Feb 2005, 19:03

Post by Joachim » 25 Feb 2005, 19:17

I can confirm that the problem has been fixed!
Thanks for that and for for the extra 2 digits!
That was fast and right in time. I just bought a license!

And by the way, I came across another minor bug. See the red circle in the image below.

Thanks for the good service and the helpfull tool.

Joachim

Image

Joachim
Posts: 4
Joined: 25 Feb 2005, 19:03

How to make APFill use A4?

Post by Joachim » 26 Feb 2005, 22:19

Next Problem: We have A4 in Germany and in most other countries of Europe, but APFill apparently assumes Letter format.
Text at the top border of my page is not shown and not taken into account when the page is examined.
How can I configure APFill to work with A4?

Joachim

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 324
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Re: How to make APFill use A4?

Post by support » 28 Feb 2005, 14:31

APFill gets page size from PS file so i think there is a problem with configuration of the Post Script printer you use.

You can use Adobe Acrobat Distiller and configure it to get PS file with any page size.

I've just made A4 PS from Microsoft Word with Adobe Acrobat Distiller and APFill display it coorect, so in this file i've found following section:

Code: Select all

%%BeginFeature: *PageRegion A4
  2 dict dup /PageSize [595 842] put dup /ImagingBBox null put
setpagedevice
%%EndFeature

Joachim
Posts: 4
Joined: 25 Feb 2005, 19:03

Post by Joachim » 28 Feb 2005, 15:49

A .ps file does not necessarily have a definition of the page size.

That's why the page format can be passed to GS using the -s option:
Ghostscript is distributed configured to use U.S. letter paper as its default page size. There are two ways to select other paper sizes from the command line:

If the desired paper size is listed in the section on paper sizes known to Ghostscript below, you can select it as the default paper size for a single invocation of Ghostscript by using the -sPAPERSIZE= switch, for instance
-sPAPERSIZE=a4
-sPAPERSIZE=legal
The default used is good for the US but not for Europe.

Hence it would be nice if APFill had a way to configure the media, like GSView has under the Media tag.

Image

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 324
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Post by support » 28 Feb 2005, 17:40

Joachim wrote: Hence it would be nice if APFill had a way to configure the media, like GSView has under the Media tag.
Ok, we'll try to implement it in this week.
Thanks

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 324
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Post by support » 01 Mar 2005, 08:04

Please download new build APFill 3.4.888.
New option "Default Paper Size" was added in the PostScript file view window.

Guest

Post by Guest » 02 Mar 2005, 15:52

Marvelous! Thanks you.

(... but note that paper sizes are correctly specified with capital letters. See: http://www.cl.cam.ac.uk/~mgk25/iso-paper.html ;-) )

Joachim

Post Reply