Jobs never finished

Technical support for APBackUp users
Post Reply
Peyman

Jobs never finished

Post by Peyman » 27 Aug 2005, 06:33

Hi all,
I've downloaded APBckup last week. I've tested it many times with 2 jobs. they have to backup my data and transfer the zip archeive to remote FTP. but the problem is that the jobs neveer finish after uploading to FTP. here is the details :
Job 1)This job backup my data and store it in a 3.7GB zip file then transfer it to remote FTP server the zip file in the local and remote FTP are ok but the proccess percent is -22% :!: :!: :!: and task never finish
Job 2) this job backup data and store it in a 700MB zip file and transfer it to FTP. again both zip files are ok but the proccess percent is 100% and job doesn't finish

As you know changing job status to finish is very important. because if the job havn't finish it will not run again on the next scheduled time

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 319
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Post by support » 29 Aug 2005, 05:38

Try to examine this topic:
http://avpsoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=58

Some advices:
1. Download the last APBackup build. http://avpsoft.com/products/apbackup
2. Try to use passive mode
3. Check your Firewall log files to get know which ports is closed.

Peyman

Post by Peyman » 29 Aug 2005, 10:28

Dear Support
1. Download the last APBackup build. http://avpsoft.com/products/apbackup
I've downloaded it last week
2. Try to use passive mode
I'm using passive mode
3. Check your Firewall log files to get know which ports is closed.
The file has been transfered to remote ftp server compelety so I don't think this is a port issue.
:idea: Maybe it is numeric overflow problem because of big file sizes. any othe solutions?

Guest

Post by Guest » 29 Aug 2005, 10:46

This is Firewall problem because of after file is upload the task is not finished yet. APBackup try to determine files to be deleted according depth settings. In this moment it trying to get directory listing from FTP site and these packets is obviously blocked by firewall. I think so, because in both cases files have been transfered comletelly (And we tested FTP transfering up to 50Gb files last week). According to FTP protokol it opens new data port for every data transfering command so after file is uploaded Server opens next data port (Current+1) and try to get data.

Peyman

Post by Peyman » 29 Aug 2005, 11:29

Is there any specified port so I can open it on my firewall?
I can't turn off my firewall :cry:

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 319
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Post by support » 29 Aug 2005, 13:03

It is common problem for FTP clients. You can read these articles to get know how solve it in your environment:

http://slacksite.com/other/ftp.html
http://www.ncftp.com/ncftpd/doc/misc/ft ... walls.html
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=323446
http://www.faqs.org/rfcs/rfc1579.html

Peyman

Post by Peyman » 21 Sep 2005, 13:19

Dear Support
Thank you for your references. I have microsoft windows firewall on my local machine (my FTP server machine doesn't protect by any firewall) I can't turn this firewall off and I don't think that windows firewall has an option to allow a specified machine to have access to all ports. do you have any solution

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 319
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Post by support » 03 Nov 2005, 15:11

There is a way to go through the firewall. In many FTP servers there is a way to set ports range in passive mode. For example in Filezilla there is the "Use custom port range" parameter. In this case you can set it to two near (for example 2700-2701 ) ports. In this case APBackup will try to send date to these ports turn and turn about. So in this case you can create "Permit" rule on your Firewall to pass packets to ports with destination ports 2700 and 2701.

spraguey
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 Feb 2006, 22:45

Should be fixed in APBackup

Post by spraguey » 01 Feb 2006, 22:49

Why can't this problem be fixed in APBackup? I am able to run APBackup to create a zip file, then move the file to the FTP site using WS_FTP or even Internet Explorer without any problems. When I try FTPing the file with APBackup, it locks up at 100%.

I understand the firewall problem and the active/passive difference, but what I don't understand is why this is a problem only for APBackup. WS and IE can FTP to the destination just fine.

support
AVPSoft support
AVPSoft support
Posts: 319
Joined: 01 Nov 2004, 21:25
Contact:

Post by support » 02 Feb 2006, 06:40

Could you please send APBackup.log file to support@avpsoft.com

Post Reply